An old photograph

From February’s Writing Prompts, February 5, 2016

Grandma and DadI found this photograph at my parents’ house during my last visit. I had never seen it before then. This is a picture of my father and my grandmother in 1945 or 1946. I absolutely love this photograph. Today, I look so much like my mother, but I sure did look like my father at this age. I also see that my father looked so much like his mother when he was a baby in this picture, but he grew to look like his father as he got older.

Looking at old photographs such as this one fascinates me. I am always in awe looking back and seeing the resemblances and then wondering what it would have been like to live back in those eras. It’s amazing how times have changed from one decade to the next. My grandmother’s hairstyle and dress are indicative of that era. My father’s onesie and shoes… It almost feels as though this was a picture straight out of a movie, and it’s hard to imagine what life would have been like back then.

I have other pictures such as these, but this one has me captivated. It’s the one picture where I can truly see the family resemblance. It makes me long to hear all of the stories of times gone by and the tales of our family’s days.

What do you see?

Leave a Reply

