You bastard

From February’s Writing Prompts, February 12, 2016

Fear is the bastard. I have let it stop me in the past. No more. That’s only one of many reasons I started writing. It’s therapy. I think a lot of writers can say that. I love putting words on paper, but I still have fear about what I should share. Am I ready for that? Are the real-life protagonists in my writing ready for that?

I am an insomniac at times. Lately, while I’m awake, my mind races. I’m thinking of all the things that I want to write about. There are too many topics, and it overwhelms my brain. So I write the topics down so I can go back and write about them one day. Then during my usual morning ritual, I read. I come across more topics to write about.

Those topics are the things that I fear, not the writing itself.

Fear…I don’t think I’ve knocked you out quite yet, you bastard. But I’m working on it.

“I came to realize it’s that fear that’s the worst of it. That’s the real enemy. So get up, get out in the real world and you kick that bastard as hard as you can right in the teeth.” – Walter White, in Breaking Bad

Leave a Reply

