A pink tutu

From February’s Writing Prompts, February 18, 2016

ballet collage

I always wanted to dance in that pink tutu. A little girl’s dream! I got to dance in a yellow and purple one when I was young, though. The time of my life!

I don’t know why, but I didn’t dance after this. I was put in Brownies instead. Later in life, I asked my mother why I never danced anymore when I was a kid. She said, “You told me you didn’t want to.”. I’m not sure what would have possessed my brain to think that way. Brownies wasn’t for me. I never even moved on to Girl Scouts when I got too old for Brownies. I also turned to music, which I was very good at, but I still loved ballet.

When I started college, I enrolled in a ballet class, which was taught by a German woman named Heidi. She had been a professional dancer in Germany before she moved to the United States. Being 18 years old, I was already a little too old to be dancing. I did it anyway. I certainly had a difficult time, but Heidi always kept on me, and she was tough! She always called me “Re’gee nah”, with that guttural sound in her throat when she was pronouncing the “g”. It always made me giggle, especially when I frustrated her, as it was more pronounced. I could never seem to get the distinction between Pirouette en dedans and Pirouette en dehors…I was always going in the wrong direction! But in the end, she always gave me a wink and a smile.

Within a few months, Heidi had me on Pointe. That was my dream, and it felt so good! The feeling of putting on those pointe shoes cannot be explained. It was a double-edged sword – so painful, yet so exhilarating!

I couldn’t dance for very long. My already damaged back, hips and a weak left ankle were my enemies. Even so, it was one of those things that I was happy to have had the opportunity to experience. I never got to dance in that pink tutu, but I gave it all I had.

Years later, I’ve turned in the pointe shoes for a pen instead.

“Dancing in all its forms cannot be excluded from the curriculum of all noble education; dancing with the feet, with ideas, with words, and, need I add that one must also be able to dance with the pen?” – Friedrich Nietzsche

Leave a Reply

