The Moral of the Story

I am deviating from February’s Writing Prompts once again.  Maybe in the middle of March, we will get that finished.  Sometimes another topic takes over for the day, so I need to share it.

The Moral of the Story

I have a bookshelf full of books, most of which I’m still trying to read. What most people don’t know is that I have a good portion that would be considered for children or young adults. I don’t read these kind of books because I have the mind of a child. I read them because I learn something from each and every one of them. I find that there’s a meaning or a lesson to be learned in every story that’s told, whether it be a children’s book or a book that adults would read.

Aesops Fables

Take Aesop’s Fables, for instance. This book has been marketed as a children’s book of morals to be learned, but it was originally written for the adult reader, not a child. Each fable is written in a way that each individual can respond and interpret these morals according to their own needs and reach their own conclusions as to what the fable means in their own lives.

It’s quite fascinating when you look at a “children’s” book in this way. I’m sure most of us have either not read this book, or just brushed it off as entertainment for children; but how many of us have really read these and really thought about what they mean to their everyday lives and how we live it?

There is something to be learned every day. Sometimes a fable with a moral is the greatest thing to learn in life…

Go read. It’s ok to feel like a child while you’re doing it!

Leave a Reply

