Frozen

From February’s Writing Prompts, February 19, 2016

Sometimes it feels like we are all just frozen in time, but everything flashes before you in an instant.

It’s how I feel about those years spent overseas in Europe as a kid and teenager. It’s how I feel now as an adult as well.

When I was that young person, spending time walking the streets of Naples and Bagnoli, I almost literally felt frozen in time, with all of the history surrounding me. I spent 6 ½ years in the midst of that, but it went by in a flash, and I don’t feel like I appreciated it enough while I was there. What I wouldn’t give to be back in that place and time again.

Today, as an adult, that frozen feeling comes in a different context. It comes in the form of fear or grief. It’s the fear of what comes next, and feeling frozen in time and not able to move forward. It feels like you’re living in a nightmare that’s never ending, yet the days, hours and minutes go by so fast.

Still, I think about what I wouldn’t give to be back in that foreign country as a kid again, with not so many cares or fears, just like it used to be. I’m sure I would fully appreciate every moment, and not let any of it slip by.

“Alice: How long is forever? White Rabbit: Sometimes, just one second.” ~Lewis Carrol

Leave a Reply

