Drunk

From February’s Writing Prompts, February 28, 2016

I had a conversation with a friend yesterday that brought up some memories of my time in Italy as a teenager. It brought smiles and a little laughter. Then I realized the topic for today’s writing prompt… Drunk. What a coincidence!

Growing up in Italy as a kid and teenager in my day was so much different than being on American soil. Like night and day. Like any typical teenager, especially one coming from America, you’ll always try the things you know you can get away with, at least once! Oh, those poor American parents…

Those things included drinking alcohol, as there is no drinking age. Granted, teenagers in America will get their hands on it anyway, but when you are in a place where it’s not controlled, you bet it will get taken advantage of!

Hanging out at the K Bar or the Bambusa in Villaggio Coppola, Pinetamare. Drinking until you can’t stand, smoking cigarettes, playing in the band. Sleeping in until noon. It was all normal.

If you talk to a few of them these days, now that we are older, some get sick at the mere thought of the word Amaretto.

Drunk in Italy…it was considered a custom for the American teenager.

P.S. I’m not really talking from experience, I was just an amused witness to it all, as I didn’t indulge. I was the quiet one of the bunch. But I still laugh today as I reminisce. I hung out at places like Sala Giochi (an arcade) in Pinetamare…but the shenanigans weren’t much different!

“An American monkey, after getting drunk on brandy, would never touch it again, and thus is much wiser than most men.” ~Charles Darwin

Leave a Reply

