Strapped

From April’s Writing Prompts, April 7, 2016

It’s been some time now since I’ve written. I can’t help but feel that I have been a disappointment to myself. I am most content when I write, and I crave it when I don’t write. Then comes the excuse of being strapped for time, or there are untold numbers of things going on that steer my attention away from the page. Life throws you some punches, and it’s a crazy ride.

It’s time to strap myself in and take that ride. It might be a bumpy, rough and wild ride, but life cannot stop me from doing what I love to do. After all, the best part about writing is the ride. That is where the words stem from and start to flow.

I’m strapped in – let’s go!

“Life is truly a ride. We’re all strapped in and no one can stop it. When the doctor slaps your behind, he’s ripping your ticket and away you go. As you make each passage from youth to adulthood to maturity, sometimes you put your arms up and scream, sometimes you just hang onto that bar in front of you. But the ride is the thing. I think the most you can hope for at the end of life is that your hair is messed, you’re out of breath, and you didn’t throw up.” ~Unknown

Leave a Reply

