Got shelved

From April’s Writing Prompts, April 9, 2016

“With literary biographies, you’re either shelved with other biographies or next to your subject’s fiction.” ~Blake Bailey

After reading this quote, I couldn’t help but think, if I got shelved, what authors would I be shelved with? This intrigued me, so I was impelled to look up a list of famous authors. This is no easy task. I have yet to find a comprehensive list of authors in alphabetical order, without noticing too many authors’ names missing. It’s really difficult to determine exactly who I would be shelved between.

If we went about it using our last names instead of categories, I would be somewhere in between Solomon Northup and Flannery O’Connor. It is a regrettable fact that I have not yet read either of their works; shame on me. I did see the movie, “12 Years A Slave”. It was a wonderful movie, but like all movies based on literary works, I’m sure there was a great deal missing or much not conveyed that might have had great importance. I would much rather read the book and get the story in it’s entirety.

What an honor it would be to find myself shelved amongst these great authors! I’m certain my work is anything except qualified to be placed amongst them, but I am making that a goal.

Until then, I read, I write, I research, I write some more; and I dream…

Leave a Reply

